# ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF SOUTH EUCLID CITY COUNCIL

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited and Mayor Georgine Welo called the Organizational Meeting of City Council to Order.

### Invocation

Pastor Scott Pugh from Velocity Church gave the Invocation.

Mayor Welo discussed the format, agenda and purpose of the Organizational Meeting and gave an overview of the history, including reciting some of the minutes from the first Organizational Meeting of City Council held 100 years ago.

#### Swearing-In Ceremony for South Euclid Municipal Court

• Judge Gayle Williams Byers was sworn-in by Judge Anita Laster Mays.

# Swearing-In Ceremony/Oath-of-Office for Ward Councilmembers.

- Ward One Councilwoman Ruth Gray was sworn-in by South Euclid Judge Gayle Williams Byers.
- Ward Two Councilman Joe Frank was sworn-in by Mayor Georgine Welo.
- Ward Three Councilwoman Sara Continenza was sworn-in by Mayor Georgine Welo.
- Ward Four Councilwoman Jane Goodman was sworn-in by County Councilwoman Sunny Simon.

#### Roll Call

**Present:** Councilwoman Sara Continenza, Councilman Dennis Fiorelli, Councilman Joe Frank, Councilman Marty Gelfand, Councilwoman Jane Goodman, Councilwoman Ruth Gray, Councilman Jason Russell.

#### Motion to Elect Council President

Mayor Welo asked for nominations for South Euclid Council President from members of City Council.

Councilwoman Jane Goodman nominated Councilman Dennis Fiorelli to serve the next two year term as Council President.

There being no other nominations, Mayor Welo asked the Clerk to call the vote. **Vote:** Motion passed (**summary:** Yes = 6, No = 1, Abstain = 0).

**Yes:** Councilwoman Sara Continenza, Councilman Dennis Fiorelli, Councilman Joe Frank, Councilman Marty Gelfand, Councilwoman Jane Goodman, Councilman Jason Russell.

No: Councilwoman Ruth Gray.

Councilman Fiorelli was elected City Council President

Mayor Welo congratulated Mr. Fiorelli and Council President Fiorelli assumed the role for the Organizational Meeting.

#### Motion to Elect Council President Pro Tem

Council President Pro Tem asked for nominations for South Euclid President Pro Tem from members of City Council.

Councilwoman Ruth Gray nominated Councilman Jason Russell to serve the next two year term as Council President Pro Tem.

**Vote:** Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote (**summary:** Yes = 7).

Yes: Councilwoman Sara Continenza, Councilman Joe Frank, Councilman Marty Gelfand, Councilwoman Jane Goodman, Councilwoman Ruth Gray, Councilman Jason Russell, Council President Dennis Fiorelli.

Councilman Russell was elected City Council President Pro Tem

## Benediction

Pastor Bruce McLaurin from First Baptist Church gave the Benediction.

## Adjourn

Action: Motion to Adjourn, Moved by Councilman Marty Gelfand, Seconded by Councilwoman Sara Continenza.

Vote: Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote (summary: Yes = 7).

**Yes:** Councilwoman Sara Continenza, Councilman Joe Frank, Councilman Marty Gelfand, Councilwoman Jane Goodman, Councilwoman Ruth Gray, Council President Pro Tem Jason Russell, Council President Dennis Fiorelli.

The Meeting Adjourned at 6:43 pm.

Attest:

Council President

Clerk of Council